Showing posts with label hyperion. Show all posts
Showing posts with label hyperion. Show all posts

Wednesday, June 14, 2017

How to set Hyperion Financial Report default user point of view On


When a new user is assigned access to Hyperion Workspace, the Financial report user Point of view is set by default to "Off."

In this scenario, the user needs to set the POV manually by going to File -> Preferences -> Financial Reporting. This can, however, be avoided by setting the POV to on globally by the admin.

It can be achieved by following the steps as outlined below -

1. Run the FR Configurator (FRConfig.cmd in Windows, FRConfig.sh in UNIX) under oracle\Middleware\EPMSystem11R1\products\financialreporting\bin.
2. Go to the MBeans tab.
3. Expand com.hyperion -> Financial Reporting -> Attributes.
4. Set the value for "com.hyperion.reporting.HRPrefs.previewuserpov" to "true".
5. Close the Configurator.
6. Stop and restart the Financial Reporting services.
7. In order to verify the result, create a new user and ask the user to sign in to Workspace.
8. Ask the user to go to File > Preferences > Financial Reporting.

The "Preview User Point of View" should be "ON" now.

Thursday, November 3, 2016

How to schedule Business Rule to launch through the Planning Utility

Say you have to schedule a Business rule to run nightly in version 11.1.2.3.700

It being version 11.1.2.3, we have Calc Manager to handle the Business Rules - remember no EAS BRs.

In this version there is a utility - "CalcMgrCmdLineLauncher.cmd" in the Planning1 folder (D:\oracle\Middleware\user_projects\epmsystem2\Planning\planning1)

So, in order to run the Business Rules, we can go to the Planning1 folder and run "CalcMgrCmdLineLauncher.cmd /A:AppName /U:admin /D:DatabaseName /R:BusinessRuleName /Validate"
Validate if optional for validation.
In this case, we will be prompted for a password.
We can also use Password encripted file with "-f" syntax, which would look something like this
CalcMgrCmdLineLauncher.cmd -f:D:\oracle\Middleware\user_projects\epmsystem2\Planning\planning1\passwordFile /A:AppName /U:admin /D:DatabaseName /R:BusinessRuleName

This script can be scheduled by including the lines in a batch script.
Create a batch file and include the lines ---
call D:\oracle\Middleware\user_projects\epmsystem2\Planning\planning1\CalcMgrCmdLineLauncher.cmd -f:D:\oracle\Middleware\user_projects\epmsystem2\Planning\planning1\passwordFile /A:AppName /U:admin /D:DatabaseName /R:BusinessRuleName

Thursday, September 22, 2016

Oracle Smart View 101 - Smart View Error (503)

Say for example you are running a large query via Oracle Smart View and you get an error:
"Cannot connect to the provider. Make sure it is running in the specified host/port. Error (503)."

CAUSE -
The cause of this issue is that the time to complete the query in Smart View exceeds specified maximum session timeout value.

When this error occurs, user must close MS Excel and then re-open and re-login to continue working.


SOLUTION -

In order to resolve the issue, we need to modify the session timeout setting, which is specified in "mod_wl_ohs.conf" in the Weblogic Managed server. In the specified file, modify the parameters for WLIOTimeoutSecs and WLSocketTimeoutSecs or add the lines if missing. 
Also make sure to restart the Oracle HTTP Server (OHS) and the WebLogic managed server for the Analytic Provider Services (APS) server for the new setting to take effect.

Take the following steps:
1. Shutdown Essbase services/processes.
2. Back up current mod_wl_ohs.conf file, which is found in the Windows environment in D:\Oracle\Middleware\user_projects\epmsystem\httpConfig\ohs\config\OHS\ohs_component folder.
3. Open mod_wl_ohs.conf file in a text editor and add or modify the parameters for the        “WLIOTimeoutSecs” and “WLSocketTimeoutSecs” properties within the location section for APS.
Here is a sample:
<Location Match ^/aps>
SetHandler weblogic-handler
WeblogicCluster <aps-server-name>:13080
WLIOTimeoutSecs 1800
WLSocketTimeoutSecs 1800

</LocationMatch>

4. Restart Oracle HTTP Server and WebLogic managed server services. 




Tuesday, December 22, 2015

How to run a batch script from Workspace

In order to run a batch job through Workspace, we can take the following steps:

In this example, I am going over the steps in creating a job which when runs the ExportSecurity batch job (that I have created for a specific application) from the Workspace.


The “Generic Job Application” tab opens.
Right-click anywhere and choose “Create New Generic Application” OR click the “+” sign.
The following “Create New Generic Application” window pops up.



Provide a suitable “Product Name” like in the following screenshot. In my example, I have given a name “Export_Security_From_Workspace”
Choose a Product Host, which is the Server where Workspace is Configured.
We can “Click a button to insert a Command Template value.” In this case (it being a Windows batch job), we can select “$PROGRAM” and “$PARAMS” – Note: Please refer to “Reporting and Analysis Frameword Admin guide” for more information on this.
For the Executable we can specify the “CMD.EXE” file - %WINDIR%\System32\cmd.exe


Click OK

Now the steps to import the batch file.
In this example, I am in the “Testing” folder in Workspace.
Import “File As a job”



The following windows pops up.


Provide the file, a name and description (optional), and check “Import as Generic Job” like in the following screenshot.



Click Next. The following screen pops up. Choose the job we created in the beginning of the tutorial.



Based on requirement or the work environment, we can choose “Run Options” “Parameters” “Credentials” etc. However, it can be finished at this point by clicking the “Finish” tab.
Now, we can see the job in the folder “Testing” in the Workspace.


We can now run the job by double-clicking or by right-clicking.


The following windows appears where we can specify the output.



Click “Run”



When the job completes, we can see the security file being populated.



Check the “Testing” folder again and we now have the OUTFILE as well where resides the “SECFILE.TXT” 

Thursday, April 16, 2015

The Hyperion inconsistency

The Planning Utilities that we have available in the Planning1 folder (\oracle\Middleware\user_projects\epmsystem2\Planning\planning1 in Version 11.1.2.1 for example) are simply wonderful in terms of doing several activities in a fly - for example Loading and modifying the outline, exporting and importing user security, encrypting password, et. al. They are very easy to use and simple in terms of syntax.
The only comment I have are the inconsistencies on how you write the script.
Say for example that you want to migrate "SECURITY" by using the Utility. In this case, you would export the Security and then import it by using "ExportSecurity" and "ImportSecurity" utilities respectively.

The syntax for ExportSecurity in the simplest case would be something like:
ExportSecurity.cmd /A=application_name,/U=admin_user

The above script would export the application security and generate a SECFILE.TXT file.

Now, if you would import the security in the target application, the syntax you would probably think of is:
ImportSecurity.cmd /A=application_name,/U=admin_user
Right?

However, the syntax for ImportSecurity is:
ImportSecurity.cmd "application_name,admin_user"

It is pretty basic, however, what if they had the same kind of syntax for both of those utilities. Oracle or Hyperion might have some reasons behind it, but sometimes I am puzzled about how or why these things have such inconsistencies.

Any comments would be fun for discussion purposes or as a feedback to Oracle.

Thursday, February 19, 2015

Want to find oPatch inventory?


If you want to find out the list of oPatches that have already been installed to your EPM environment, you can take the following steps:

Open a command prompt.

Get in to the oPatch folder - ie, change directory to "D:\oracle\Middleware\EPMSystem11R1\OPatch" or wherever you have oPatch folder.

Run the following script:
opatch.bat lsinventory -oh D:\Oracle\Middleware\EPMSystem11R1 -jre D:\Oracle\Middleware\jdk160_21

Make sure to replace the path with the one you have in your environment.

You will see a list of patches that are already applied to your environment.




Tuesday, March 25, 2014

Essbase data load Rules file - how to create

In Essbase, we use rules to map data values to an Essbase database or map dimensions and members to Essbase outline. Rules are stored in rules files and have extension .RUL.
We use Rules Files to define which build method to use during dimension build, how to transform data values before loading them as the source file may not exactly be in the format Essbase understands, what to load and what to avoid loading, etc.

This is what the Rules Files branch would look like in EAS Enterprise View.



We can follow the following process to build Rules files to load data in Essbase. We can use Rules to build dimension as well. The process of creating Rules files to load data and build dimension are almost the same except for some differences in the process.
In the picture of EAS enterprise view illustrated above, we already see the Rules Files branch. In this case we can simply right-click on the “Rules Files” and -> “Create Rules File”













In case, it is the first time we are creating a Rules File or if we do not see the Rules Files branch in the Enterprise View, we can use the “File -> Editors -> Data Prep Editor” option to open up the Data Prep Editor.























This is what the Data Prep Editor looks like


File -> Open Data File
Open the data file that you want to load or a sample file that is a replication of the load file.
In this example, I have chosen a .TXT file named “sample_load_file.txt” that I have on my desktop.

This is what it looks like. The top section is RAW data whereas as the bottom section has everything in Field1. So, we will work on this file so that we can create a Rule that tells Essbase what and how to load the data.
















One very important thing here in creating the Rules file is that if we look at the bottom section of the above illustration, we can see that Row1 is blank, and Row2 has the heading. Therefore, we want to tell Essbase to load data only starting Row3, and it can be achieved by skipping the first two lines during data load.
Click “Options -> Data Source Properties






















Under Delimiter, choose the RADIO-BUTTON for Custom and enter the Pipe Symbol.






















Click the “Header” tab.
Make sure “Number of lines to skip” is set to “2.” OK






















This is what we will see now.
















During the Rules file creation process, we can choose to “show” or “hide” the RAW data. So, this step is optional. If you want to hide RAW data – View -> Raw Data.














Since we are creating Rules file to load data, make sure to click the “Data Load Fields” icon.










Associate Outline: Options -> Associate Outline












Choose the outline with which the Rules is to be associated with.
Assigning Field Properties: This is where we define which field corresponds to what dimension.
Highlight Field1, and “Field -> Properties”












Click the “Data Load Properties” tab.
























Double click “Versions” as the first column is “Versions” dimension. This is what it looks like.
























Next -> “Scenarios”
Next -> “Center”
Follow this process to define the Fields.
When it comes to the fields that correspond to Jan, Feb, Mar, etc, we can expand the “Time Periods” dimension and choose the right members to correspond to the months.
























After defining the last field, we can click OK to have those field properties set.
Now, Options -> Data Load Settings.














Under “Data Values” we can choose to “Overwrite existing values” or “Add to existing values” or “Subtract from existing values” – whatever we would like to do. In this case, we will choose the “Overwrite existing values” option. OK


Now, let us validate the Rule to ensure it does not have any error.
Options -> Validate












The follow pop-up notifies that there are no errors.


Now we can save the Rules file.
File -> Save
Essbase gives the option of saving the file either in the Essbase server or File System.
Make sure the .RUL files is not more than 8 letters long.
Save the .RUL file as per organization guidelines or whatever makes sense.

Now that we have created the data load RULES file, we can use this file each time we want to load similar type of data to the database.
To learn more about loading data to Essbase cube using Rules file, you can visit my blog about Essbase Data Load 
You can also visit Oracle's Rules files page to learn more about Rules Files. 



Wednesday, January 15, 2014

Hyperion Essbase Audit Trail

Turning the Audit Trail on in Hyperion Essbase is useful if you would like to keep track of data modification by users. Turning on the Audit Trail makes Lock & Send slower, however, it is of great importance in tracking data changes.

We can use the SSAUDIT feature in order to keep track of changes.
In order to turn on the Audit Trail in Hyperion Essbase, do the following:

  • Open the essbase config file - essbase.cfg which is located under the  SERVER\d$\Hyperion\Essbase\bin folder.
  • Add the following line - 
    • SSAudit APPNAME DBNAME D:\Hyperion\Essbase\app\APPNAME
    • eg: SSAudit Nirmal Khoonks D:\Hyperion\Essbase\app\Nirmal 
  • Save the essbase.cfg file.
  • Restart Essbase Server.
The SSAUDIT creates two files ".ALG" and ".ATX" in the path that we have provided in the SSAUDIT script line.
In this case, those files would be available in "D:\Hyperion\Essbase\app\APPNAME" folder and they would be called "NIRMAL.ATX" and "NIRMAL.ALG."

ALG file logs the User and timestamp, like in the following example:


[Mon Jan 13 16:47:24 2014]
Create Spreadsheet Update Log
[Mon Jan 13 18:36:40 2014]
Log Updates From User [ essadmin@Native Directory ] Starting At Row [ 1 ] For A Total Of [ 8 ] Rows
[Mon Jan 13 18:38:27 2014]
Log Updates From User [ admin@Native Directory ] Starting At Row [ 9 ] For A Total Of [ 8 ] Rows

ATX file logs the dimension members being altered. 

"Operating" "AT" "PC" 
"FY14" 
"Budget" 
"Final" 
"Dec" 
"20D500" "115000" 1563. 
"25Z250" "125000" 0.569 

If the SSAUDIT is issued without any argument, the log would be produced at the default location:
ARBORPATH\APP\APPNAME\DBNAME

If you would like to turn on audit trial for multiple application/databases, you could add multiple SSAUDIT statements (up to 10) in the essbase.cfg file. You can choose the log path as per your need. 

  • SSAudit APPNAME1 DBNAME1 D:\Hyperion\Essbase\app\APPNAME1
  • SSAudit APPNAME2 DBNAME2 D:\Hyperion\Essbase\app\APPNAME2
If you would like to produce a single log for all the applications that you have, you could have the statement like:
SSAudit xxxxx xxxxx PATH of your choice

Make sure to restart Essbase server for it to take effect. 

SSAUDITR - This is the alternate for SSAUDIT, and it clears the logs at the end of archiving process. 

Thursday, March 7, 2013

Cannot log in to EAS - Java related


If you are not able to launch the EAS console from your Workstation, these are some of the steps that you could follow. For example, when you try to launch EAS you might get a box that would tell you to save/open the file called EASCONSOLE.JNLP.

You can do a couple of things in this situation.
1. Make sure that you have the right version of Java installed.
2. Save the EASCONSOLE.JNLP file somewhere on your computer. Right-click the file and click OPEN WITH ->CHOOSE PROGRAM.
3. Browse and choose the javaws.exe file. The path in my case is C:\Program Files\Java\jre6\bin.
4. Check “Always use the selected program to open this kind of file”
5. Click OK.
6. Try to open your EAS console, and you should be able to log in now.


Also some other things to be noted.

1. Go to your control panel and open JAVA.
2. Click the JAVA tab and VIEW.
3. Make sure that the proper version is enabled.

Monday, February 25, 2013

Ports that come in handy in the Hyperion ecosystem


Ports are very important in the use of any application, especially the complex systems such as the EPM System. For example, if you had to type in the URL to access a Workspace, you are typing in the Port as well apart from the Server where the Workspace resides. The concept of Port is even more important if you are doing an EPM installation/configuration. Because we use several different Ports during EPM deployment, knowledge about what Port the different products in the EPM family use becomes very handy.

I have provided the following information regarding the Ports in accordance to system 11.1.2.1. Even though it may hold true to other versions as well, please do refer to manuals as per the version you are using for accuracy.

WebLogic Administration Server Port     7001

Foundation Services

  1. Listen Port                                  28080
  1. SSL Listen Port                          28443
Web Server Ports
  1. Oracle HTTP Server                  19000
  1. IIS                                              80
Performance Management Architecture Web Application
  1. Listen Port                 19091
  1. SSL Listen Port         19047
Performance Management Architecture Server         5251
Default Web Server Port           80 (HTTP) or 443 (IIS)
Essbase Ports

  1. Essbase Agent                                                 1423
  1. Essbase Server Applications                            32768 - 33768
  1. Essbase SSL Agent                                         6423
  1. Oracle Essbase Integration Services Server      3388
Administration Services Web Application
  1. Listen Port               10080
  1. SSL Listen Port       10083
Provider Services
  1. Listen Port              13080
  1. SSL Listen Port      13083

Essbase Studio Ports

  1. Listen                     5300
  1. HTTP Listen Port   9080
Reporting and Analysis Framework Web Application Ports
  1. Listen Port              4500
  1. SSL Listen Port      4504
Reporting and Analysis Framework Agent             6860
Reporting and Analysis Framework Services         6800-6805
Financial Reporting Ports

  1. Listen Port               8200
  1. SSL Listen Port       8243
Financial Reporting Print Service                 8297
Financial Reporting Scheduler Service          8299
Web Analysis Ports

  1. Listen Port                     16000
  1. SSL Listen Port             16045
Planning Ports
  1. Listen Port                   8300
  1. SSL Listen Port           8343

When an application is accessible via a network it means that it is using a TCP/IP port. When a port is used by an application, it cannot be used by another one. Even during installation/deployment, we will get an error message stating that a particular port is being used by another application. Therefore, the skill to find out what port is being used by what application comes in very handy.
If you want to find out what is using a specific Port, you can open the COMMAND PROPMT and type in

"netstat -aon | more"

or if you know the Port number, you can type in something liek "netstat -aon findstr "6800""

This way you will be able to find out what is being used, whether a particular port is listening, etc. 


Wednesday, December 26, 2012


Essbase Hierarchy

Essbase, being a multidimensional OLAP tool, hierarchy is of utmost importance as aggregation in Essbase depends on its hierarchical structure. 
Under each dimension in Essbase, we see other members to branch out which further branch out to several others.
For example:
Year
      Qtr1
              Jan
              Feb
              Mar
      Qtr2
              Apr
              May
              Jun                     etc.

We can view Essbase hierarchy from three points of views: Genealogy, Generation, Level.

1. Genealogy: From this point of view, the member at the top most level is the ancestor of the one below it. In this example, Year is the ancestor of Jan, Feb. Jan is the descendant of Year. Year is the parent of Qtr1 and Qtr2, and Qtr1 and Qtr2 are the children of Year. Jan, Feb, and March are siblings. 

2. Generation: We also use G1, G2, G3, etc for generation reference. The member at the top is Generation1, so in this case, Year is G1 or generation1, followed by Qtr1 and Qtr2 being G2, and Jan to Jun being G3. So, G starts from 1 and increases as we drill down towards lower members in the hierarchy.

Level: Level reference works opposite to Generation reference and it starts with the number 0. This means the members at the lowest level in the hierarchy is Level 0 and the level increases as we go higher. In this example, Jan, Feb, Mar, etc are the bottom-level members, so they are Level 0 members. Qtr1 and Qtr2, in this example, are Level 1 members and Year Level 2. The bottom-level members are also referred to as leaf members.



Hyperion Life Cycle Management: A migration tool

Life Cycle Management is a tool that comes loaded with Hyperion Shared Services which can be used to migrate Oracle EPM applications and artifacts from one environment to another.

During the migration using Life Cycle Management (LCM) tool in Hyperion Shared Services, first we export the applications and artifacts from the source environment and then we import them in to the target environment, therefore, we will first perform LCM export.

LCM EXPORT IN SOURCE ENVIRONMENT

While exporting, you could follow any order in terms of application-artifact export, however, I would recommend exporting in the following sequence.
  1. Foundation/Shared Services
    1. Source option: leave default
    2. Destination: File System            example: SS_EXPORT_CONTENT
  2. Planning/Application name
    1. Destination: File System            example: PLAN_EXPORT_CONTENT
  3. Foundation/Calculation Manger (not available in our environment)
    1. Destination: File System            example: CALC_EXPORT_CONTENT
  4. EssbaseCluster1/EssbaseCluster1
    1. Destination: File System            example: ESSBASE_EXPORT_CONTENT
  5. Report and Analysis/Report and Analysis
    1. Source Option     UNCHECK "export with job output"
    2. Destination: File System            example: RA_EXPORT_CONTENT

 Here are the steps.

  1. Log in to Hyperion Shared Services.
  2. Under Application Management, expand Application Groups -> Foundation -> Shared Services and double-click Shared Services.
  3. Under the Artifact List on the right, expand the Native Directory and choose the artifacts that you want to export. In this case, we can select Groups, Users, EssbaseCluster1, Planning
  4. On the left pane, under Application Management, expand Foundation -> Calculation Manager. 
  5. On the right, expand Planning and choose the application and artifacts to be exported.
  6. Now under Application Management on the left, choose Planning -> Application name (FinSrv in this example). You will see the artifact lists, such as Configuration, Global Artifacts, Plan Type, Relational Data, Security, etc. Select ALL.
  7. Under Application Management -> Application Groups, choose EssbaseCluster-1 and double click EssbaseCluster-1 under it. On the right, under Artifact list, Select ALL.
  8. Add caption
  9. Reporting and Analysis under Application Management -> Reporting and Analysis.
  10. On the right, under Artifact List, expand Repository Objects and choose the ones to be exported. Then expand Security, and select the ones to be exported or select all depending on requirement. Remember to cross check Product Preferences as well. The figure below has everything selected under Repository Objects and Security and since everything could not fit, I have not expanded them. However, if you click the PLUS right before the objects, you will see all the artifacts.
  11. Click on DEFINE MIGRATION to start the migration process, and this (following screenshot) is what we will get – the source screen for initiation of migration process. Choose Foundation/Shared Services and click NEXT.
  12. On the source screen, like in the following screen, leave the defaults and click NEXT.
  13. On the destination screen, give a file name under File System. Your Shared Services artifacts, etc will be exported under this folder/file. Click NEXT.
  14. On the Destination options screen, leave the default and click NEXT.
  15. We will see the following screen. We can see a green CHECKMARK on the left to Foundation/Shared Services, which means that we have chosen the artifacts under Shared Services that we want to migrate. Lets now go on to Planning by checking the RADIO BUTTON that is to the left of Planning/FinSrv.
  16. Click NEXT to start the Migration wizard.
  17. Leave the Source Option as default and click NEXT.
  18. In the Destination screen, give a file name PLAN_EXPORT_CONTENT under the file system.
  19. Leave Defaults on the Destination Options screen and click NEXT.
  20. Like in the following screen, choose Foundation/Calculation Manager and click NEXT to start the migration wizard. There are green check marks before Planning/FinSrv as well.
  21. On the source options screen, leave the defaults and click NEXT.
  22. On the destination options screen, under the file system, give a name CALC_EXPORT_CONTENT and click NEXT.
  23. Leave the defaults on the Destination options screen and click NEXT.
  24. Now lets start the EssbaseCluster-1 migration process. Choose EssbaseCluster-1/EssbaseCluster-1 in the source screen and hit NEXT.
  25. Leave the defaults on the source options screen, and under the Destination screen, enter a file system file name called ESSBASE_EXPORT_CONTENT.
  26. Leave default on the Destination Option screen.
  27. For Reporting and Analysis migration, choose the radio button on the left of Reporting and Analysis/Reporting and Analysis and click NEXT.
  28. On the source options screen, uncheck "EXPORT WITH JOB OUTPUT" and click NEXT.
  29. Under Destination screen, enter a file name called RA_EXPORT_CONTENT. Leave defaults under the Destination Options screen.
  30. On the Summary Screen, click EXECUTE MIGRATION to execute migration.
  31. Click LAUNCH MIGRATION STATUS REPORT in order to view the migration status. Migration STATUS REPORT can also be opened from the menu bar by clicking on Administration -> Migration Status Report.
  32. We will see a report page which shows a list of artifacts/ applications that we have migrated from the past in a chronological order.
  33. If the status is "IN PROGRESS" it means the migration is in progress. You can click REFRESH at the bottom right. If the migration completes successfully, the status will show COMPLETED. If migration fails due to any reason, we will see FAILED status. If the status is FAILED, we can click on it to get the report as to why the migration failed, like in the following screenshot.

 

FOOD FOR THOUGHT

In order to import the artifacts/applications in the target environment, we will make use of the applications/artifacts that we just exported in the above steps.

Since we have exported the artifacts and application in the FILE SYSTEM, they will be saved under the IMPORT_EXPORT folder in the middleware home. So if we want to see where they are in the source environment, we can go to the Middleware home. The path would be something like D:\Oracle\Middleware\User_projects\epmsystem1\import_export.

Lets look at the contents under import_export folder and we will see folders such as admin@native_directory, etc. The files that we saved during migration will be found here. For example, while doing the Shared Services migration, we had entered a name SS_EXPORT_CONTENT under the file system. So, the file will be available in this folder.

Copy these folders (the exported ones) and paste it in the same folder in the target environment and then we will go ahead with the LCM import process in the target environment.


LCM IMPORT IN TARGET ENVIRONMENT


The steps:


  1. Log in to Shared Services.
  2. In Shared Services, under Application Management, expand File System. Select CALC_EXPORT. On the right pane with Artifact Lists, Select ALL.
  3. One by one, select all the artifacts/applications (that we have exported earlier) on the left and Select ALL on the right.
  4. Now click the SELECTED ARTIFACTS tab and you will see a screen similar to the following:
  5. Click the DEFINE MIGRATION tab to start the import migration process.
  6. On the source screen, select the Shared Services source (File System\SS_EXPORT) and click NEXT.
  7. Leave the defaults on the Source Options screen.
  8. Leave defaults on the Destination screen as well as the Destination Options screen. Click Next and then it will go back to the source screen again where we will choose the GlobalSubstitutionVariables, as in the following screen.
  9. On the source option, destination (EssbaseCluster-1:EssbaseCluster-1), and destination options screens, leave the defaults. Click Next.
  10. On the source screen, choose the Planning Application File System (File System\PLAN_EXPORT).
  11. On source options, leave the defaults.
  12. On the destination screen, select the application that you want to migrate to. For example, if you want to migrate to the application called SAMPLE, you can choose SAMPLE in this case.
  13. On the destination options screen, leave the defaults. Click next and it will take you again to the Source screen.
  14. Select File System\RA_EXPORT and click NEXT.
  15. Source screen, destination screen (Reporting and Analysis: Reporting and Analysis), and destination options screen should have defaults. Click Next to return to source screen again.
  16. On the source screen, select the File System Calculation Manager artifacts (File System\CALC_EXPORT). Click NEXT.
  17. Source options should be left default and also the destination (Foundation: Calculation Manager) and destination option screens. Click NEXT.
  18. Click EXECUTE MIGRATION in the Summary Screen to execute the migration process.
  19. If you want to save the migration definition as a file, you can do so by clicking the SAVE MIGRATION DEFINITION tab. It will create an .XML file in the location of your choice.
  20. After the migration is executed, we can check the status in the Migration Status Reoport.

 

Foundation/Shared Services
Summary screen before executing migration.
Need to click on EXECUTE MIGRATION tab in order to perform migration. The SAVE MIGRATION DEFINITION saves the file in the location of choice.

 

DataLoad after migration
After successfully exporting application/artifacts from source environment and importing them in the target, we can load data to the Essbase cube.